Wonders: Sonic Youth’s Washing Machine

May 30, 2007 at 2:56 pm 2 comments

On my way to work a song from Sonic Youth’s 2006 album “Rather Ripped” came on my iPod, and it got me thinking about Washing Machine.

I love this album. In fact, it is my favorite Sonic Youth album. “BLASPHEMY!!” cries all the hardcore Sonic Youth fans! “Daydream Nation is better! Goo rules you!” Yeah.. well, I’m not a hardcore Sonic Youth fan so you guys can keep those albums in your favorite spot and let me have this one in mine.

I first heard this album through a sampler disc I got sometime in 1995 with the short version of “The Diamond Sea” on it. I didn’t pick up the entire album until years later in Portland, when I got it at Ozone for super cheap used. It was then I found out that “The Diamond Sea” is a 20 minute song. Oh, Sonic Youth! You’ll never outdo “Sister Ray!”

I love all the lazy music styles on this album.. and it really feels like the last of that mid-90’s noisy-melodic grungy arty album sound that sort of defined my music tastes growing up as a teen. My favorite song on the album is the title track “Washing Machine.” It reminds me of the Lou Reed song “Andy’s Chest” for some reason. At ten minutes, it almost overdoes it, but I can’t get enough of “Yeah…. I took my baby down the street, and I buy him a soda pop. He’s so sweet. OH RIGHT NOW, OH RIGHT NOW etc. etc.”

I’m usually a fan of the perfect 3 minute song, but Sonic Youth is one of the exceptions because I can listen to them fuck around on their guitars and effects pedals for long time. Long time!

Entry filed under: General Blabbing, Music, Wonders.

cottage cheese I hate scrabble!!!

2 Comments

  • 1. Naterageous  |  May 31, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    I saw SY open for REM on the Monster tour months before Washing Machine came out. They played the Daimond Sea and I thought it was the coolest thing I had ever heard in my life.

  • 2. Robert  |  May 31, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    VIVA DIAMOND SEA!!!!!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

