Wonders: This is Big Audio Dynamite

May 24, 2007 at 3:01 pm 2 comments

I do a lot of blabbing about Joe Strummer lately, and I really believe a lot of Joe’s later music transcends his Clash days. But what about Mick Jones?

I love Big Audio Dynamite! Their first album has some really great songs off of it – The Bottom Line, E=MC2, and Medicine Show are all great songs. I picked up a Medicine Show single a long time ago, with an extended mix on side B, and whenever I pop on records this one is in the mix. The lyrics are smart and they mix in lines from all of Sergio Leone’s westerns. Their later album “Megatop Phoenix” is another favorite. Contact and Dragon Town are pretty great to clap along to – I used to borrow that album when I would drive home from Portland and listen to it on repeat. Now I own it!

Then there was Big Audio Dynamite II. I’m always weary of sequels, especially if they are a band. Even though BAD II is essentially BAD with a few different members (reminiscent of “Cut the Crap” and The Clash Mark Two). I picked up “The Globe” a while ago, and I have never really given it much of a listen. Nothing grabbed me. I should listen to it when I get home!

You can pick up their first album (pictured above) pretty cheap, or you can get “Planet BAD” which is a greatest hits album. But these albums are available so cheap now you might as well pick them up in their entirety.

“Who the hell is that? One bastard comes in and another comes out!”

Entry filed under: Music, Wonders.

Other blogs I love UK vs. U.S. versions of “The Clash”

2 Comments

  • 1. Naterageous  |  May 28, 2007 at 12:48 am

    The song “The Globe” never grabbed you?!

    GET DOWN FROM THE TREE AND EVOLVE A SENSE OF AWESOMENESS, YOU FUCKING APE!!!

  • 2. Honky-Tonk Dragon  |  May 30, 2007 at 4:37 am

    “The horses are on the track…”
    OH YEAH BABY!!!

    I love me some BAD.
    I actually got to see them open for U2 on the ZooTV tour… Public Enemy was another of the openers, one of the best stadium shows of my life!

    Great post!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

