Modern Lambretta

May 24, 2007 at 3:41 pm

I’ve never really been that into Lambrettas. Without being modded out (like some of the scoots in Quadrophenia, pictured to the left), a plain Lambretta just doesn’t have the lines and the compactness that I like about classic Vespas.

However, there have been some rumblings and rumors about a modern Lambretta coming out, and I was kind of excited. I love how they updated the Vespa (from the ET to the LX to the new limited edition LXV) and I was optimistic about an updated Lambretta. Unfortauntely, it looks like the new Lambretta is nothing but a rebranded twist n’ go plastic poopy. There is a great article over at 2strokebuzz that details all the hype and rumors of the new Lammy, and it looks like it will turn out to be a disappointment.

However – is it really fair for me to be judging at this point? I’ve never really enjoyed the Lambretta style as much as I have the Vespa style, and I don’t even own a vintage bike yet (cross your fingers in 8 days). Perhaps something more akin to the L-Series will come out and knock everyone out.

Entry filed under: Vespa, Wonderful Sites!.

UK vs. U.S. versions of “The Clash” Tooth trophy


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

