R.E.M.’s new album

March 14, 2007 at 3:46 pm

R.E.M. announced they are going with Jacknife Lee for their next album. Jacknife Lee produced U2’s “How To Dismantle an Atomic Bomb,” which makes me instantly wary of the whole thing!

God, U2 sucks!

I will always look forward to new R.E.M. albums, but I wish they would go with someone that focuses on less production. Even though I’m not a big fan of Rick Rubin’s productions, it would be interesting to hear what he could do. I’d even be happy if they went back with Scott Litt.

Michael Stipe is good friends with Patti Smith, and Patti Smith was on “E-bow the Letter” from “New Adventures in Hi-Fi,” one of my favorite R.E.M. albums. This was also the first single from the album. She has performed with R.E.M. a few times on this song, and Michael Stipe has performed with her as well. Michael Stipe says that “Horses” (and Birdland in particular) is one of his biggest influences.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Patti Smith Live = Amazing Shaving (and lack of)


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

