Patti Smith Listening Party

March 13, 2007 at 10:19 pm 3 comments

I’ve been listening to Patti Smith all day at work, after I listened to my regular NPR programs (oh man I sound like an old person!)

I’ve been listening to:

1. Easter – Look for the highly anticipated Bruce Springsteen / Patti Smith post that relates to this album later this week.

2. Horses – Tonight I’ll listen to the bonus disc that is included with the Legacy Edition that is the album performed completely live – the only time Patti Smith has done it.

3. Trampin’ – Oh man, I really really like this album. It was “critically acclaimed,” but sort of passed over. The first song “Jubilee” really reminds me of Easter’s opening track “Till Victory” (and not because they rhyme).

Patti Smith has a Cat Power-esque covers album coming out next month called “twelve”.

Here is a link to download her version of “Gimme Shelter.”

Or just listen to it here:

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Cat Oscar Patti Smith Live = Amazing

3 Comments

  • 1. Dennis  |  March 14, 2007 at 2:23 am

    btw – hear a few samples from TWELVE in this week’s Fresh Air on NPR archive; also, Jonathon Ross interviewed Patti on his BBC show [3 March 2007] – go to 18:00 to hear the interview, Everybody Wants to Rule the World, & a live performance of My Blakean Year.

    http://www.prx.org requires free registration to listen, but trust me it’s worth it – tons of good stuff! If I tried to summarize all they have just on women musicians this post would get too long. (Yes, I found them seeking a recently aired segment about Patti.)

    Also, as part of their Women’s History Month Programming: Patti Smith: Horses 30th Anniversary,
    Rita Houston (WFUV-FM, New York, NY), can be found at http://www.prx.org.

    http://mog.com/clayboy56

  • 2. Dennis  |  March 14, 2007 at 2:25 am

    They played “Dream of Life” in its entirety on 12/29/06 at the Bowery Ballroom.

  • 3. naterageous  |  March 14, 2007 at 6:33 am

    So close to the Boss/Patti post. So close!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


