Under-appreciated Albums (by me)

February 22, 2007 at 6:53 am


This is the very first Bruce Spingsteen album I bought. I still have the record, but I’ve since bought it on CD when I worked at Second Spin.

This is also probably my least listened to Bruce Springsteen album. Why? It takes a little to get into this album. It is about despair and loneliness (topics not foreign to The Boss) and the songs reflect that. There isn’t the same optimism in these songs as in Born to Run, but some of those themes show up in songs such as “The Promised Land” and “Streets of Fire.”

This album has one of my favorite Springsteen openers.. the kick-ass song “Badlands.” Once in Eugene, I went to this crappy sports bar and played pool, and I hated the bar so much. So I went to the jukebox and noticed they had Badlands. It improved my experience there for four minutes and four seconds.

Speaking of, I’m watching the Terrance Malick film “Badlands” as soon as I’m done with this post.

And to my Boss collection: I know I’ve neglected you for about four months. I know you have sat there as Guided by Voices and Robert Pollard records stacked up next to you, eventually towering menacingly over you like some sort of new baby in my awesome family of rock CDs. Well, Boss collection, it’s just you and me for the rest of the week! I’m going to put you on my iPod and listen to you at work – not a hint of Pollard will be heard! Let’s power through that Tracks boxset one more time.

And Uncle Bob… I’ll be back when I finally get that “Hardcore UFO’s” box set next week.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

and this, before I go to bed. …and I want to shout out our love to the world (hit it)


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


