Some of my favorite memories

January 21, 2007 at 7:09 am 3 comments

Here are some of my favorite memories of all time:

1. It was 1995, and my parents just got “Primestar,” which was the first of those small satellite dish services. Previously to this, we only had 3 channels, and channel 12 (ABC) came in pretty bad when it got rainy. So when we got satellite, this was a mind blowing experience. Also, my parents sort of had a “no TV” policy for after school, which is funny because me and my sisters (before they got married and ditched me) would watch TV all secret when we got home from school, scared my parents would drive up at any time. Which was silly because they both worked 20/60 miles away (mother/fater respectively).

Anyway, when I was 15 we got Primestar and MTV. I was amazed at all the music! Even though this was in the midst of “The Real World,” they would still play music videos. I got home from school and my dad was just leaving. He drove off and I turned on MTV to find playing “Friends of P.” I was fixed! I loved the song! I turned it up really loud. I started singing along. All the sudden my dad walked in, he had forgotten his lunch box. I should mention this was smack in the middle of our generation gap separation. I didn’t understand my dad, and he didn’t understand me. He looked at the video (which had a faux language running at the bottom of the video, like subtitles) and he said “what is that crap.. russian or something?” I said “Um.. it’s the return of The Rentals!” and he said nothing and walked out. I finished out the video then turned off the TV.

2. I was 18 and I had just moved out on my own! Me, Charley and Jaxon had a place in Portland. I lived in the living room! It was that magical time when you bought your own food and didn’t know what the fuck to do with it. I remember Jaxon had bought some bagels from Fred Meyer, and put them in the cupboard. The next day he went and got one and it was hard as a rock! I guess we sort of just accepted it and went on. Later that week, he bought some bagels and they were out of the regular paper bags they give you to store them in. He put them in a plastic bag instead and brought them home. The next morning, I was awaken by Jaxon saying “Hey!!! These bagels stay soft when they are in plastic bags! Those paper bags don’t work at all!” I think of this story every time I buy bagels.. and I mean every time. It makes me feel nostalgic about the time when we were so naive about the most simple things, we were just figuring out how to live outside of the world our parents made for us. At the risk of sounding cheesy, it was a pretty magical time and a time that we’ll never be able to relive.

These are just a few of my favorite memories. Chances are, reader, is that you and I have quite a few amazing memories together. I’m so glad I got to experience those times together, reader! If you have any favorite memories like the ones I posted, please share them. Let’s get nostalgic together.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Life’s Little Surprises Shopping!

3 Comments

  • 1. Melissa  |  January 21, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    I love The Rentals.

    I still have the haiku that you wrote after you left your sweatshirt at my house after my birthday party back in 2000.

  • 2. Robert  |  January 22, 2007 at 2:25 am

    That was a really great party! Oh man that was a long time ago! Can you have another party? I’ll come up

  • 3. dave  |  January 23, 2007 at 6:34 am

    Ahh, the old Goose Hollow apartment. I still remember the night we were walking up the sidewalk and you were telling me you had a bad luck tendency to step in dog shit. And then ten seconds later you stepped in dog shit.


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


