i run and run and run and run and run and run i

January 9, 2007 at 8:10 am 6 comments

I run. I own a pair of New Balance running shoes. I usually run at night. Back to the shoes, though. I have bad back / so-so knees. So I bought some New Balance shoes. They are really, really ugly. If shoes were made by Momma shoes and Daddy shoes that feel special about each other and 9 months later these shoes came out… the Momma shoes would throw these shoes in the dumpster. Get it?

They are white. I really dislike white shoes. But these are a special kind of white. They almost have a luminescent quality to them.. like that dog dragon’s scalely fur in “The Neverending Story.” Not to be outdone, the white is complemented by some bright yellow highlights on the sole, the only redeeming feature in the design of this shoe is that they decided to include black trimming.

The soles are starting to get scuffy and dirty. I get excited when I see this on my ugly, ugly running shoes. Also, for some reason, the laces are twisted in a sort of girly fashion, like a really long spiral staircase. I keep meaning to get regular flat shoelaces, but I never think about it until I’m out there.. running.

I wonder if people look at my shoes and scoff. I’ll scoff right back. These fuckers work. My knees and back haven’t said a thing. I forgot to add that the back of the shoes have this tiny bit of silver on them, something to give them a little class. If I were to wear these to a formal dinner party, I would get scoffs as I walk in the door, but nods of approval as I exit.

These shoes aren’t smelly.

I guess I sort of love my ugly running shoes, but not in the way you love an old pair of shoes that are so beaten and broken down that a bum would reject them if he saw them lying in the middle of a stack of abandonded cans. Bums always need shoes. But I digress.. I guess I sort of love these shoes. They work.

Plus I run at night, so it doesn’t really matter. Plus I don’t care what people think. I listen to music while I run in my ugly shoes.

With surgical focus…………

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

"this is what rock is all about" bran n’ wheat n’ bran n’ wheat n’ bran n’ wheat n’…

6 Comments

  • 1. charley  |  January 9, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    People are always glad to see you exit, regardless of your shoes.

    Love,

    Charley, who’s a sucker for obvious jokes

  • 2. Robert  |  January 9, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    “Hmm.. should I commit suicide today, or not? Let me check my blog comments before I decide. OH! OH HO HO NOOOOO! BOO HOO HOO, (slits wrists or something like that).”

    Be careful with your jokes!

  • 3. ISabelLE  |  January 10, 2007 at 3:29 am

    When did you get these shoes? When did you start running? What is happening?

  • 4. Robert  |  January 10, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    SINCE Y2K ISABELLE LOL ROFL SRSLY OMG OMG OMG

  • 5. Dave  |  January 11, 2007 at 5:04 am

    First tattoos started showing up in Sprite commercials. Okay, whatever, mostly stupid tribal tramp stamps right? Now, the average latte-making Starbucks employee is likely to be as inked up as a Hells Angel. And the name of deceased tatto artist Sailor Jerry is being used to sell all sorts of products from T-shirts, to bikinis to rum (pretty good rum actually) to a bunch of wankers who probably don’t even know who Sailor Jerry was. Punk music and fashion is becoming increasingly co-opted and mainstreamed resulting in stupid teenage girls wearing thirty dollar “vintage” T-shirts depicting bands they’ve never even heard. Middle aged yuppie women are exercising to stripper workouts. And now Pip is jogging and eating wheat and bran!? Jesus Fuck, isn’t there anything dirty left in this world?

  • 6. Dave  |  January 11, 2007 at 5:17 am

    Man after that last post I really need a High Life. Oh crap, I can’t have a High Life. Some hipster jerk in $270.00 jeans just bought the last one because its fashionable. Brown is the new black and High Life is the new Pabst. AAAAHHHHHHH!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos

IMG_0861

IMG_0849

IMG_0814

More Photos

