Goodbye 2006!

December 17, 2006 at 7:55 am 2 comments

I’ve lived 4 different lives. I will list them below. This is the definitive self-reflexive post of 2006.

1. Grants Pass.

This is where I grew up. This is where I grew a sense of identity and a sense of grounding. The NW will never leave my blood. An immense sense of calm comes over me when I am alone in the middle of my parent’s property. The silence and darkness that used to scare me as a kid now makes me feel like an anchor, like some sort of presence that lives in those woods but only gets to visit every once in a while.

2. Portland.

This is where I became the person that I am. Portland taught me how to live in the “real world,” as well as giving me the best times in my life. For almost 5 years, I had great friends, great experiences, great concerts, great relationships, a great job, and a great sense of placement. If I could say I belong anywhere on the west coast, it would be Portland.

3. Eugene.

Eugene was somewhere where I expected to tie up loose ends, and I ended up picking up a lot more than that. I met some of the most awesome, sincere, and amazing people in Eugene. I came down to Eugene expecting to spend two years and no more, but I ended up investing myself into people that I know I will be friends with for life. Eugene dealt me a few hands that I am still handling today, but I know I will be better for it. It was two of the best years of my life.

4. Los Angeles

I can’t describe Los Angeles yet. It is like being in the middle of a hurricane. You can’t ask for a description of the experience until the person is thrown out of the middle. I’ll admit, sincere people here are few and far between. Los Angeles will definitely be a year (or two) where I look back and I realize that life is much more than you expect it to be. I love it down here because I live in the same city as my best friends, and I also have had the opportunity to meet some pretty amazing people. I feel like you really haven’t lived until you experience Los Angeles. I have that step taken care of.

I’ve lived 4 lives, and I hope that you, reader, have been part of at least one of them! After all, you are who I am writing this for. Life is so short, and so sweet, and so complex, and so incomprehensible. It makes the most sense when you see it reflected in your friends and experiences. I feel honored to know everyone in my life that I’ve met.. my friends, my relationships, my family, my teachers. I love you all, and let’s look forward to 2007, and make it everything 2006 wasn’t. Happy holidays and happy New Years, everybody.

-Robert

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Important Stuff Mewwy Catmas

2 Comments

  • 1. Anonymous  |  December 18, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    you werent joking about the 1111 part of your address were you? Because I sent something to that address. You should be getting it soon…

    jenny

  • 2. naterageous  |  December 18, 2006 at 4:26 pm

    “Life is so short, and so sweet, and so complex, and so incomprehensible.”

    Wow. Life is like a whatchamacallit? Do they still make those? I don’t think I ever had one. Do they still make that candy bar?


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


