Last 5: Albums I Bought

September 23, 2006 at 6:48 am 2 comments

Hi! So, I worked at the record store today to help out with the shortage of people who now work there, and I picked up some albums! I also picked up a little something extra… a $.17/hour raise!!!!! You may now refer to my money drunk post and DOUBLE the wonderful things I was going to buy. That means a diamond and PLATINUM encrusted iPod nano. Here are the last five albums I bought:

1. Blackalicious – the Craft
Paid: 1 dolla bill!

I’m listening to this right now.. and I really like it. But I’m only on track 3, so the complete verdict isn’t in.

2. Elliot Smith – From a Basement on a Hill
Paid: 1 Georgey O’ Greenback

I had to pick up the swan song, but I’ve sort of been over Elliot Smith for a few years. But it will always be there for me to listen to, when I need it.

3. New Order – Substance
Paid: Pennies!

I had to pick up the BMG double disc set that came in the double CD case, instead of two single cases. Classic New Order, and the re-recording of Temptation… oh hot damn. Reminds me of Senior Prom, waking up in Jaxon’s living room watching Trainspotting.

4. Captain Beefheart – Mirror Man Sessions
Paid: A couple coppers

Haven’t listened yet, I’m still digesting “Hot Head – Introducing Captain Beefheart.” Reminds me a lot of Devandra Banhart and Tom Waits, which is funny since those are two artists influenced by Captain Beefheart, not the other way around! BOING!

5. Daniel Johnston – Hi, How Are You?
Paid: 7 bucks

So I bought this cassette off Daniel Johnston’s old manager, who still has his back catalog and dubs it onto tapes. He has a lot of stuff, and is still in contact with Daniel Johnston. I emailed back and forth with him today, and he was a really nice guy. I should get my tape pretty soon. You can get them too, if you Google for “stress records.”

Meegle Reagle, baggle tim tamble!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Presents: No Shame! Presents: New Hobby!

2 Comments

  • 1. Robert  |  September 25, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    I just got five more!

    1. Meat Puppets II (I used to have this)
    2. Southern Culture on the Skids – Liquoreed Up and Lacquered Down
    3. The Dead Milkmen – Metaphysical Graffiti
    4. James – Laid
    5. Neil Diamond – Gold

  • 2. Tiny Team  |  July 13, 2007 at 9:10 am

    Daniel is playing a show in Savannah, Georgia on August 12 promoted by Tiny Team Concerts. It’s the farthest south he will be traveling on the current tour. Online advance tickets are on sale now!


Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


